Here goes nothing…

September 30, 2016

This first post is dedicated to my dad for all the times my dad has said, “Landon you really should make a blog.” So here it is, I hope that you all will find my thoughts as intriguing as I do. I think my goal is to discuss anything and everything. Things that I fear and doubt. Things I appreciate. Things I enjoy.

I find myself in a season of life where I have a lot of questions and few answers, but what else would you expect? I’m 20. Its no secret that I lack a certain worldly experience that wise old men possess. I’m in my senior year of college, and I study religion. My game plan for now is to continue learning; the next step is graduate school, and maybe after the masters degree it will be the doctorate degree. Maybe it won’t. I find that being flexible is the best way to be. Rigidity will leave me disappointed and desperate to reach a goal that may be impossible for me.

For now, I’ll leave you all with this. The most important things I learned this summer are: 1. Lack expectation – you’re going to let yourself down or you’ll likely be let down by other people (because they’re people) and 2. Practice thankfulness – it seems like people are constantly complaining about something. Hell, even I do, but after I had begun practicing thankfulness, my life has slowly changed. It’s incredible how many things I find to complain about when I have so many things to be thankful for. I’m healthy, I live in a relatively safe nation, I have a family, I’m alive, the list goes on.

If all goes according to plan, I intend for this blog to start a conversation. Let’s argue and disagree. This post is obviously not super controversial or “offensive,” but who knows? We may reach that point one day. Hope you’ll join me in a journey through some of my thoughts (and most likely hiking photos), I’d love to have you along.

3 thoughts on “Here goes nothing…

  1. Landon,
    This is a great way communicate your thoughts, as well as follow you through your journey! I am looking forward to finding out so much more about your thoughts, opinions and feelings on your life adventures. Love you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brent Schlesman October 1, 2016 — 2:05 am

    Yeet

    Like

  3. I’m just here so I don’t get fined.

    Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close